remove ad

rs-forever's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Desk + Hopsital

One weekend Ryan and I went to Ikea to get some furniture. In particular I wanted a big work desk for beading and to set up my little bead store at home. We could not find anything we liked except for some sawhorses. So we went to Home Depot next doors to Ikea and bought some wood. Ryan _made_ me a desk. And what a nice desk it is! It is appropriately large, has an area to hand bead strings from and even has a fluorescent light!

The bead business is slow to start. I have to get a lot of pictures, have to work on the website, logos, packaging and so much more, I am overwhelmed. Especially with a job that keeps me busy, it is extremely hard...

But,

1. I have a very supportive boyfriend
2. I have very pretty stuff from India, Pakistan and Afghanistan
3. I have the will to work hard

What I lack is the ability to be focused. I am so distracted almost all the time.

I can always work harder to account for my distraction.

THEN stuff happened. My parents were visiting. My mom developed allergies. They have no insurance. So even though we found out about the allergies on Sunday night, we didn't go into emergency even when they looked very scary. We waited until Monday. Then we found out she had shingles not allergies. The shingles were out of hand. All over her face, in her hair, in her mouth, and even in her ear. The antibiotics worked though. It stopped taking over more of her.

Then when she was done with the antibiotics, half her face was "frozen". Dad called me at work, said that he thought she was having a stroke. So I came home, took them to the community health center where we were earlier. They sent her into emergency. They did a CT scan on her. OK. They drew (a lot of) blood from her. OK. Then they wanted to do a lumbar puncture on her. I argued with the doctor about the rationality of doing such a horrific procedure, if their medication strategy was going to be the same irrespective of the results. He quietened me down with his "I have 20 years of experience" spiel. So they went ahead with it. NO child, I repeat, NO CHILD, should _EVER_ have to witness this happening to their Mom. It is extremely, incredibly painful. Especially more because the doctor could not just get it right. Then the results came out OK. I was so happy. And so mad at the doctor at the same time.

She has to stay at the hospital for another day, until they are sure she is OK and let her go. Healthcare here is excellent. The doctors are a little to anal about procedures. I suppose they do what they need to do. It is not my place to comment I imagine. I am not a doctor.

I wish I was though. And I wish I was as smart as the Russian neurologist that saw my Mom. She was so smart. And so pretty. Women like that are rare.

I am happy I have Ryan. He makes up for all of it. He is the bestest friend anybody can have. He is the bestest boyfriend anybody can have. And I have him. I am luckier than anybody else I know :) :)


I am smiling as I write this. I love Ryan dearly. And Kitty too, my baby cat!

~S.

3:46 p.m. - 2010-10-20

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

grapecloud
narcissa
smartypants