remove ad

rs-forever's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Walmart, Trader Joes and Hippies.

Going to Walmart alone is depressing. If I go with R, we do a standard set of things. We first check out the Wii Games section. Then we check out the cameras section. Then we check out the Nerf Guns section. I love going to Walmart (or anywhere!) with him.

But he had to be in his lab to make some measurements today. So I went by myself. After a long, long time. I just went about trying to get the things I had listed on a yellow, ruled paper. The kind which is on a sticky pad. Conditioner, hand soap, kitty food... But I stopped at the "Your face" section. And ended up getting a Neutrogena cleanser for $8. I kept convincing myself I needed a good cleanser, moisturizer and toner. A toner is only an astringent. So I could use rose water instead of another $8 toner. And I like the CVS Vitamin E moisturizer much more than anything they had in Walmart. Everything was over $5 anyway. Even Walmart is so expensive. Oh, then I got a container for the rose water. And cotton balls.

Then I got the Kitty food. And another $8 for a Kitty hair brush. I thought about not getting it, but I felt guilty that I don't every get anything for Kitty besides food and litter. So now Kitty has a fancy $8 4-in-1 brush with a rubberized handle. And being Kitty, he will still not want me to use it on him.

I also noticed the old woman saying "Welcome to Walmart". I thought - the Kitty brush costs one hour of her job. One hour. Would I sit by the door for an hour to buy a Kitty brush? I would not. But maybe Kitty would. Because Kitty does not know better.

I sound ridiculous and stupid right now. But that is the whole point of this diary - to be myself, even if it means to be ridiculous and stupid.

Whenever I see an inter-racial couple, I think I stare at them. I want to see everything that they do. Are they holding hands, do they look at each other and talk, is he doing things for her, is she doing things for him. Then I wonder, where are they from, how did they meet, is it a fling or a long term relationship, how long have they been together. Ofcourse all of this is none of my business at all. But I am curious.

I love R. I love how he treats me. I love how he never makes me feel bad about eating too much, having too many clothes and shoes, being on the phone for too long with my parents while we are driving, spending a long time getting dressed, not keeping my things in order, not driving well and so many other things. He thinks he should not be making me feel bad about these things anyway, and why do I feel like he should. Because most relationships I have seen are this way. Most men are this way. But maybe it is just the Indian men? Maybe it is just the Indian men I know of? I do think this is the generic male trait though. I am lucky that R is respectful of everything I do. Sometimes I think he is amused by these thoughts I have.

Oh after Walmart I went to Trader Joes. Which is swarming with hippies at any time. You do get a good deal for olive oil and olives there. I also wanted to buy Mahi Mahi fish there. I started eating fish after Allie introduced me to the smell-less Mahi Mahi. But you can be sure that is not all I bought :( Would you not want to try Almond Milk? Almond milk is so hippie/vegan. It is a substitute for regular milk and soy milk too. I had to get some - no I am not a dirty hippie!

I wonder if R. reads this place? :( I hope he does but at the same time I hope he doesn't.

Oh, by the way - today is Children's Day in India after Nehru. It is funny how he has grown smaller in my imagination over the years. From being Chacha (Uncle) Nehru, to Pandit Nehru to only Nehru. Something about him wanting to be the first Prime Minister of India at the cost of tearing (and how!) a country apart. But oh, you don't read that in History textbooks in India.

9:59 p.m. - 2009-11-14

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

grapecloud
narcissa
smartypants