remove ad

rs-forever's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Degree

I go through complex feelings of shock and awe as I look at the shiny, embossed, University of Massachusetts emblem on the degree. The paper is feels thick under my fingertips, the calligraphy refined, the signatures look real but on closer inspection are found to be printed. I look at a name, printed in a gothic english font. I barely recognize it as my own. Another thesis defense, another student graduates from UMass Amherst, another paper to print and send out for the Graduate school, another envelope to deliver for the mailman. Yet so precious to me. All the nights spent working between coffee breaks, all the papers read, all the time spent away from home, all the cold walks from the lab to the parking lot or to home, all the uncertainty and self doubt, all the missed evening sunsets, all the leaves that turned red and yellow and fell down unnoticed, all the non technical books bought but never read come back to me together. For this. It was all worth it. Well earned, me.

5:42 p.m. - 2010-02-24

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

grapecloud
narcissa
smartypants