remove ad

rs-forever's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

:) Job!

The patient ones get the best.

I waited (somewhat) patiently for a good job to show up. With Ryan's help I applied carefully. Now I found a job! And it is just too good. The job is exactly what I was looking for. In the geographic area I was looking for. With the kind of people I was hoping to work with. They said they would file for an H1 Visa for me too.

I did not write about the interview here or tell anybody at all to not jinx it. I did not want to have interviewed and then not had the job. The interview was five hours long. Four people interviewed me for an hour each. And then took me out for lunch. The questions were something I had seen before during my internship and thesis so I could answer those. The other conversation I just about handled. I told one of the engineers "horse and puppy show" instead of "dog and pony show". Thankfully he thought it was funny like a woman called Ziva David in a sitcom NCIS. I think I must have said something right and done something right to have the job :)

I wish others looking for work good luck too. The key is to be consistent and patient. It is OK to be somewhat discouraged once in a while. Poor Ryan went through a lot facing my various job search related mood swings and did not complain even once. I wish you luck finding a partner like him too :)

On Friday night we drove to an observatory all the way in Rhode Island with two of Ryan's work friends and one friend's girlfriend. It was a long drive and the woman there seemed to be in a hurry to close the observatory. We saw Saturn! It had only one distinct ring about it because of how it was turned, but it was so beautiful! The sky from the observatory was no as dark as I would have liked it to be. Because the horizon was lit up with lights from Fox Woods. I am afraid I was kind of mean to the girlfriend. She was arguing with Ryan in a very illogical "OMG-way" which was frustrating me. And then she said something completely unrelated and stupid -- "I love animals". So I had to ask her (and I never do this!) "So do you eat them?". She said "Yes" and I said "It is very hypocritical, then isn't it?". This is not how I think! I believe non vegetarians can love animals too. But I felt, on impulse, of being as illogical as her. After which I spent the remaining four hours trying to be nice to her so she wouldn't think I was mean. Really, I shame myself!

9:01 a.m. - 2010-03-08

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

grapecloud
narcissa
smartypants