remove ad

rs-forever's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Drawing houses.

Dear Ryan,

Today you were playing Zelda on the Wii, and I was watching you play it. The way they show water in Zelda reminded me of the way my mother taught me to draw a house when I was in the first grade. "On the roof of the house, you make U shapes with a red crayon", she said. "Then you shade inside the "U-shapes" lightly". She drew me a perfect house, with a red shingled roof, big windows with curtains tied to the side, a door with a door knob and a letter slit in it. The house itself was yellow. It had an apple tree outside it, and little grass grew at the spot the walls of the house touched the ground. A twisting path came out the front door, all the way to the bottom of the page, as if inviting you in.

I remember this so clearly because I practiced drawing this house before my "Drawing exam". Luckily this is what the teacher had asked us to draw during the exam.

Looking back, I see my mother teaching me to draw a house, when all five of us, a cat, sometimes three grandparents and a guest lived in a single bedroom 600 square foot house that had a single bathroom. I have a lump in my throat as I write this.

Did I ever tell you that in the first grade we also learned to identify shapes. I still remember her drawing a circle using a compass and a square using a plastic scale (ruler?). She then painted the circle with green water color, and the square with red. I must have had the best shapes in my notebook among all my classmates.

-Salma.

11:20 p.m. - 2010-06-21

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

grapecloud
narcissa
smartypants