remove ad

rs-forever's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Facebook changes, camera return and yelling at 70 year old uncles

Facebook turns into a complete nuisance the moment I add a relative on there. MY cousin from India, who now lives in Canada added me on Facebook, commented on a picture of Ryan and I "Oh what a beautiful couple! Looking good Salma" in a terrible leet English, and then promptly called up my parents and said "Did you know Salma has a picture with a boy on Facebook. She is wearing such indecent clothes (a dress?)". Ofcourse I unfriended and blocked her. Now that I think about it I should have sent her a really mean message before that. My parents know about (nearly) everything I do. They know and like Ryan. How dare she try to sneak on me like that!

Then my Mom wants to add me on Facebook. Which is OK, except for the fact that the rest of her internet time will be spent spying on my Wall and my friends Walls. She doesn't mean harm, but just that she is always trying to find secret things out about me, even if there is no secret to find out.

Then there are the neighbours. I don't mind adding the neighbors kids my own age or slightly older or younger, but not women my Mom's age who would add me and then not say a word in a message, a comment or a wall, but I am certain they go through everything they can.

So I created a limited profile. People in my limited profile only had the satisfaction of adding me - once they added me they could not see anything more than what they could have before friending me (Friending's not a word!). No wall, no profile picture, no friends, no pictures, no notes.

I like sharing pictures and little snippets of my life in the form of notes on Facebook. I like sharing them with my school friends from Bombay and with some friends like Miza. But I am afraid of Facebook turning coat on me and exposing my carefully collected pictures and notes to everybody. And then it isn't just me in the pictures - it is Ryan and Kitty too. And they did not opt in to lose their privacy (Kitty has a private life!).

So I stripped my Facebook off the pictures. Everything is set to the "Only Me" permission level because I did not have the heart to delete pictures and notes. Yet one day I will go in and do that because it is the right thing to do.

I also called up my 70 something year old uncle and yelled at him because he was calling relatives in Hyderabad India and saying mean things about Ryan and I. It is the worst thing I have ever done, yell at an old man. But the same old man said some nasty things about me and my family (including my Mom?). He claimed to have not though over the phone with me, but I yelled at him anyway, because I believed my parents more. Now I only hope my parents did not manipulate me into doing this for some personal gain or to make him stop speaking ill about my Mom.

Then I got into a fight with BestBuy about the camera Ryan gifted me. It's light metering is messed up in the view finder and the live view modes. But they have a 14 day exchange policy. The customer service was rude, lying and ignorant. I blew a fuse there as well :(
I was telling Ryan that BestBuy brought out the worst in me. It is scary that I was so argumentative and so emotional about them not taking the camera back. I just feel like poor Ryan spent all that money getting me a camera. It turned out to be defective and now Best Buy is ripping us off for their fault.

Happy July 1! July is the month of Ryan's birthday :* :*

Happy short long weekend. July 4 is a Sunday. That is so very sad.

4:24 p.m. - 2010-07-01

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

grapecloud
narcissa
smartypants