remove ad

rs-forever's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Over-abundance of shoes!

The move is done. We thought packing is the difficult part, unpacking would be easy. Packing is the difficult part, if you do not unpack all your things. We left a lot of things packed up - like extra dishes. Four dishes is all we need, even when my parents, or R's parents are over. Four dishes is what we have. It is funny, I say this, as somebody with an ever expanding wardrobe, that periodically contracts followed by a trip to the Salvation Army - but the less things you own, the better you feel. Yes, there are some must-haves for every person, for every house. Perhaps those must haves all add up. For example, shoes. I did not know must haves for shoes included hiking shoes, running shoes, snow shoes, tall boots, Wellingtons, dress shoes for pants, dress shoes for skirts, dress shoes for Indian clothes, flip flops to wear in the house and regular shoes. If I compare this against what Mummy has - one pair of Dr. Scholls sandals. And one pair of walking shoes from 2 years back. All I wore while I was growing up were brown canvas shoes for school and Bata Hawaii chappal (flip flops) for playing with my friends downstairs. The flip flops would develop holes in their backs from being worn so much. Then we would know it was time to buy new flip flops from the Bata at Andheri Station. Oh, but when I was in the ninth grade, my sister and I walked to Lokhandwalla where she got me a pair of Kitos, just like the ones the girl in the Asha Bhosale song wears. Kitos are canvas shoes, but instead of being brown the canvas is plaid (red checks for me). They had white tops and white laces. They were for Rs 400, but they were so lovely! I wore them all the time, washed them to keep the whites on the top clean, and even left the laces undone when it was cool to do so in Mithibai. It is not that I do not value these nice things I have now, a lot of them thanks to R, and his Mom who has the same shoe size as me, but deep down inside I am always a little worried about stopping to value these things that I have. Perhaps I should be more certain, more confident in myself that it will never happen, and no matter how many nice things I have, I will never forget how nice they are. I could do without them, but I like and appreciate having these must-haves.

I also have very many Indian clothes, which I almost never find an occasion to wear. I could wear them around, but I do not want to be in a fancy-dress on a normal day. I could wear them for the Indian Independence Day, for Eid and Diwali. But I never did anything special for these occasions in India, and find it slightly hypocritical to do these things now. Also, I do not find any reason to display my nationality to people I am not conversing with. Not that there is anything wrong with being Indian, but I like being a question mark and avoiding biases, if any, to being with. Can you imagine really being a question mark :)

Our housemate Allie is very good at acting like different creatures. Yesterday she was telling us about the hens on her parents farm, and she was pretending to be a hen. I thought it was cute, and something I could never do. I would just feel too awkward.

R has been working really hard on his thesis. We realized, he would never be done on time, if he proposed in October, because of a four month window the school requires after the proposal and before the defense. So he might have to come back from work for a day to defend. This would mean he would have to work on his thesis, even while working on a regular job. His advisor said it would be difficult to do with a girlfriend. Little does he know what a supportive girlfriend I am :) :) But with a boyfriend like R, you can only try to be as nice as he is and not be even a quarter way there. Btw, he is like my Mom about personal belongings. He has very few of them. Guess how that makes me feel :(

He shaved today and our other housemate George said that he looked very handsome like somebody on the cover of a GQ Magazine(?). Nobody on the cover of any magazine can be like my darlingest Superman, but I appreciated George saying that. I also realized the reason why R does not shave as often is because his electric shaver is almost as old as his beard :( I should get him a new one soon, except that it is very, very complicated to buy a shaver. I was in Target recently looking at some, and it seemed impossible to pick one. Maybe I will ask his Dad.

My parents are visiting soon :) I am very much looking forward to their visit and all the things we are planning to do. I hope to be done with writing my thesis defense document by then so I can spend a lot of time with them :)

Oh, I forgot to talk about our adventure. On google maps, we discovered two little ponds far out in the backyard of the house we live in. We went through the marsh, shoes and jeans soaked in water and finally found the two ponds. But it was impossible to go around the second pond without being knee deep in swamp water. So we went to Walmart and bought identical Wellingtons for $24 each. They are steel toed too, so we got a really good deal. A woman looking for some paper towels with a lady on a wheel chair was all excited when she saw me with the boots. She said she lived close to a swamp and it would be nice to have a pair of boots like that to walk her dog. Her dog she said was a poodle. (I cannot imagine a silly poodle walking in the swamp really). I pointed out to her that these were men's boots. She said she wears men's everything. But she wears make-up. She said this coming up close to me, so I could notice all her makeup. Maybe I should wear make up too. I wear some eye-liner once in a while, but I end up rubbing my eyes and smearing it all over if I am not careful.

I think this entry is long and boring and a waste of a poor readers time.

<3 RS-Forever <3

P.S. I love my honey oat cheerio :)


11:22 p.m. - 2009-10-01

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

grapecloud
narcissa
smartypants