remove ad

rs-forever's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Welcome, December.

Tuesday morning has arrived. The dreaded Monday is over. The presentation was OK, my advisor would say, I think it went alright too. Jia said it was even cute, even if that is not the exact word I was looking for. At home I spent some "quality time" playing with Kitty and brushing him, which is not quality time for him, you can be sure. Then I spent some time speaking to Allie. She will be leaving in December to be with her boyfriend in France. I like her, she has no pretenses at all. When I lived with Indian room-mates before, my life was miserable. They pretended to be "family" but they were always talking behind each others' backs. Touch wood, they say in India, knock on wood they say here. Who knows why.

Ryan's first day at work was good too. We both did it, didn't we! Ryan nearly finished his measurements and did start work on time. I did defend my thesis. We did it :) *We did it, we did it* like Dora. Even if I don't like Dora!

This will be a new phase of our life. When we first were together, I was working around Boston on an internship, Ryan was at school. We would drive back and forth to see each other every day. We did not spend a single day without seeing each other, which is quite a feat, but is something you cannot help. Then we were both at school. How lovely, how romantic, how absolutely beautiful it is to be spending all day together at the lab or at home. Quantity time, I call it, and quality time too. Now Ryan is working around Boston, and I am almost done with school. I will be jobless for a while, but I know something will come up, if I keep looking for it. If not electrical engineering, I will take something else up. I am still working on my on-campus job at school until the end of this month (It is December already!). After which I think I will watch what I spend, because I will be using up savings.

What I really like while driving at night is look at the windows of houses. They usually have a yellow light on, that lights up the window from behind the curtains. There is a lamp by the window sometimes, and you can see it's outline. It is nice to imagine what people might be doing inside. I usually imagine two people reading a book in bed. The room in my imagination has a cozy bed with tonnes of sheets on it (they use so many layers of sheets in this country!), a painting over the bed and a bed side table with a lamp again. I think I imagine the nice bed the little girl is on in the end of the movie "Edward Scissorhands". When I first watched that movie, I was amazed at what a nice, big, soft bed they had. Not the water bed, but the bed they have right at the end of the movie.

I will get to work now, or nap just a little. I feel sad for Ryan that he did not get enough sleep last night, but still has to work all the way to 6pm. I also blame myself for not having arrived here sooner (had I not chatted with Allie). We could not go out to eat last night because everything was closed by 11pm when I arrived. We ate some Mochi icecreams and drank some very delicious wine. But the red bean mochis had melted. I tried to keep the temperature low in the car, but perhaps not low enough for the poor mochis.

9:10 a.m. - 2009-12-01

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

grapecloud
narcissa
smartypants