remove ad

rs-forever's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

You are not in Burlington anymore, Kitty!

You are not in Burlington anymore. You are in Amherst. I mean we. Kitty, Ryan and I drove back from Burlington today. Kitty was in my car. He did not meow as horrendously as he did when I took him there. He was "so anxious that he wore himself out" as Ryan says. He sat quietly in the passenger seat and even slept. Everytime there was a bump on the highway he would wake up and meow. But I would look at him, and he would look right back at me, and give ma "long blink" before going to sleep again.

We had to move so much stuff back, it is hard to believe we needed all that for only three weeks? We saw a woman walk out of the hotel with a tiny leather bag on wheels. I was carrying Kitty-paraphernalia and had snow on my coat and my gloves from digging out Ryan's car from the snow and in general felt like a big mess. When this lady walked by I followed her with my eyes and then deeply sighed. I asked Ryan if American girls knew how to travel light, and he said infact Americans would have more things to haul around.

So I took dishes along for the three week stay, because I wanted to cook and eat at the inn, if we could. Eating out is expensive and unhealthy. More so with the huge serving sizes they have here. We had to take Kitty, and Kitty comes with his own stuff too. I have been trying to convince myself I do not have too much stuff. But I really do. Then living close to the Burlington mall did not help at all. Because I am also a compulsive shopper. How I shame myself!

Over the weekend we went to meet Ryan's family. Their yellow lab Mr. Bailey is getting older. He is eleven now. I am afraid one day he will die and Ryan will be heartbroken and I will not know how to fix that. It will happen, in some years, certainly. I love Bailey too, so I will be sad myself. But Ryan grew up with poor Bailey boy.

Ok, so we are back in Amherst and there is tonnes of laundry to do. Plus Allie's car is not parked outside anymore and that makes me very sad. I have never missed a housemate like this before :-| She will soon be in France with her boyfriend and I suppose that is like a "Happily Ever After" to the Allie story, which is nice :) She left Ryan and I some magnetic poetry and Kitty some Feline Greenie Treats for Christmas.

I think I am about to rant about how commercialized Christmas is here! SO I will stop, and say a quick goodbye to dear diary.

5:23 p.m. - 2009-12-21

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

grapecloud
narcissa
smartypants