remove ad

rs-forever's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

EatPrayLove and Christmas.

Ryan's brother's girlfriend really likes the book Eat Pray Love. I should read it myself before saying anything about it perhaps. It comes across as a straight forward farce even before I read it. A woman living in a developed country going and washing the floors of an ashram. Do you know what somebody in India would think of her as? Crazy! So maybe she is trying to find herself and all that. Maybe we do get caught up in a material world. How can you not? Don't you have to worry about where the rent and the groceries are going to come from? Why is it so bad to be materialistic then, if you are doing what you need to do to survive. Going off to an exotic location to find their true self, that is something only the rich have the time for unless somebody carves out their career like that. Like this author did. The poor, or should I say, the ones that are not extravagantly rich are too caught up in their dharma to worry about their moksha. And this is something they should not feel bad about.

In India, we had a mattress maker who would make you a custom size and thickness mattress. I used to have one because I would need a mattress I could unroll and sleep on the floor. But for a bed we bought a foam and coir mattress. Imagine having a custom mattress made here now. Wow, the grass indeed is always greener on the other side.

You don't need to go to India to find your true self. That would not be your true self then. That would be your true self on vacation. Your true self is here. Now. You do not need to find it. You have it, and you always have.

Bah, humbug!

Merry Christmas :) As a part of finding our true dental selves, Ryan and I have been WaterPik flossing our teeth. Ryan gifted me an electronic toothbrush! Makes brushing so much easier. Vroom, Vroom, all done :)

Somebody at work said my parents might be offended if they saw me celebrating Christmas. I think it may have been to get me going. I could not point this out enough that I probably knew more about Christianity than the collective knowledge of all the people at work. And then I also knew about Islam in detail and also about Hinduism. Sometimes I like to brag about the multi religious upbringing I have had. But this time it was only defense :(

Love,
~S.

9:12 a.m. - 2010-12-28

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

grapecloud
narcissa
smartypants