rs-forever's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

leaf peeping

I really like the rains and rainy overcast days. I like it when everybody is not clamoring over each other to go leaf peeping or such and causing 10 mile long traffic backups with angry fists and frowns all around.

I have no idea why going and looking at leaves change color is calling leaf peeping. Peeping is something you do through a small hole or a slit. You don't view leaves through a small hole. I guess an eye is a small hole in a way, but then seeing anything would be considered as peeping. For example, I peeped a cat on the couch. Where is the butter, I did not peep it in Aisle 1? I guess that's where the song 'Jeepers Creepers, where did you get those peepers' comes from. Peeps = eyes? Sounds obscene. I thought peeps meant friends. I guess eyes are your friends. Ok, this is beginning to sound slightly crazy.

It will continue to remain one of those inexplicable phrases in the American dictionary, like 'you are all set'. Whatever does that even mean? You are all set like Jello? Or concrete? Wait for the cake to set? I know its vernacular and all that, but that doesn't make it sound less silly.

Unfortunately, I now find myself saying inane things like 'I am good', or 'I am all set'. I don't even bite my tongue afterwards. Shameful, I tell you.

3:06 p.m. - 2014-10-13

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

narcissa
grapecloud
smartypants