remove ad

rs-forever's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Evanescent

Leaving from school I saw the power plant puff out clouds of vapor into the sky. The clouds were drenched in gold by the setting sun. Ethereal. On the highway, silhouettes of the bare leaves were sharp at first against the evening sky. As twilight changed to darkness the trees began to disappear into a dark sky, the lights of cars coming towards me seemed to become brighter.

I saw the crazy, old bagger at Stop and Shop again today. A thin, bent figure, with a long gray beard, wearing a yellow shirt, baggy green pants, and a maroon apron, an earnest face and crazy eyes behind huge glasses. He held a small bag of M&Ms and ate them as he looked at DVDs for $1 in the red vending machine.

I stood there, still, and watched him quietly. Christmas seemed to lose its meaning. Some have so much. Some so little. I do nothing for the ones that have little. Or maybe I am the one that has little, and they have much that I cannot see.

I thought I should get a picture of him to remind me this, always. But something stopped me. The thought of intruding the little space he had for a selfish reason.

Funny, I never thought about this while getting pictures of the old man sleeping on the overhead bridge in Bombay. Why now?

Bombay seems to be another world to me. I do not like this exoticness I associate with Bombay now in my mind. Bombay was regular. Bombay was usual. I wonder if it will ever be again. Life slips by so fast. Graduate school will retreat from the recent past and become a phase too. Everything is evanescent. It makes me so very sad.

10:57 p.m. - 2009-12-22

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

grapecloud
narcissa
smartypants