remove ad

rs-forever's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Flashy immigrants.

I wonder why immigrants both first and second generation (first generation born in a new country) pay so much attention to flashiness?

Refer to ambiguity in immigrant generations here.

For example they like buying expensive cars with expensive rims and fancy leather interiors. They could have bought a car that still did the job of transporting them, without looking as fancy, for a lot less money. Same story with cell phones and laptops.

Oh, and then they like putting up pictures of their "fancy toys" on Facebook.

When I went with Ryan and Melinda to the Cambodian festival, the documentary that followed showed this kid working at Stop and Shop and saving up about $800 to buy his brother fancy car rims, and yet complained about how they did not make enough money working at Stop and Shop. I thought it was ironic.

It is also strange how this is a trait particularly among male Indian immigrants. Females continue to be practical and make sensible decisions.

Or maybe my sample size is all wrong.

I think even I end up spending more than I should be by buying a few Ann Taylor Loft clothes, as opposed to buying a ton of clothes from Aeropostale. ATL makes classy clothes. And they always, always fit me just right. I always get them on sale and use coupons. They are not more expensive than Gap or Banana Republic or Abercrombie and are so much prettier. ATL is my favorite-est clothing store for women. And LL Bean for men! So very out of context!

Love,
~S.

11:52 a.m. - 2010-02-03

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

grapecloud
narcissa
smartypants