remove ad

rs-forever's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Blind and Friendly

Americans are an unfriendly lot. If they are friendly they are either:
1. creepy
2. crazy
3. As we found out today - BLIND.

Today I thought I would change my mind about this when I walked around Arlington. It was a bright, sunny day, and everybody looked happy. I picked up a conversation with a lady in a spice shop who was friendly. As it turns out she was slightly crazy. Then I walked out of the spice place, I walked down the sidewalk (or footpath), and came across a blind lady waving a cane. I smiled at her and said "Hello! How are you?" which seems to be the usual fake courtesy around here. Nobody waits to hear an answer, so I say it is fake. It is still better than not acknowledging somebody you are crossing paths with though. She says "I am fine, How are you doing?" followed by a "Do I know you?". I said, no. So she says "Oh so you are just being friendly, alright then, Bye!". I said Bye and moved on, and I would have corrected her if she were not old and blind. I was not "being friendly". I am friendly! Which is perfectly normal, but something seems to be wrong with all these people around here. They are all sordid looking, like somebody died even on the nicest day. There now I sound like one of them.

6:56 p.m. - 2010-04-02

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

grapecloud
narcissa
smartypants