remove ad

rs-forever's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Boston Day Out with Soha

We should officially be called the Make-Our-Own couple. We make oat bread, yogurt, cookies and cakes at home. And today we added to the list - biscotti and pizza. Biscotti I always thought was something only snobbish people had, like Oh-we-are-so-Italian. But that is not true, and I only say it because it is so expensive. But if I make it at home, it takes nothing terribly expensive other than almonds. And wow, are almonds expensive! They can never be for $3.something. It always has to be $4 and above. If I convert that to rupees, I think for Rs 160 I would get a goodly amount of almonds and not just "1 3/4 cups" almonds which are packaged in California. Why not make it 2 cups, while they are at it?

Oh, so why did I learn to make Pizza and Biscotti at home today? Let me correct myself, it is not pizza but pizzette i.e. Tiny, expensive pizza. I went to drop Soha (the nice Lebanese girl) at Boston today, because she is moving out of Amherst for good. In Boston we ate at this Italian place called Rocca. And my, my what a snobbish crowd. Everybody seemed to be full of themselves. The waitress asked us if we wanted cocktails to begin with and we said we wanted only water. After which we lost any interest at all she may have had in two immigrant girls walking into this place. Everything was delayed! I had pizzetta and Soha had a panini, and we shared a dessert of "Almond Bark with chocolate". In order to recreate these nice things for Ryan I learned how to make Pizzetta and Biscotti. Biscotti with almond and vanilla is my substitute for almond bark, which people think is some kind of a silly candy. They would not find candy in that expensive restaurant, that I can assure you. I could not find the almond bark recipe anywhere.

I went without Ryan, so I missed him terribly terribly constantly. This morning when I was at waiting at Auto Express to get Roo (my car) fixed, I logged on to the free wireless internet they have there. Ryan came online (he had just woken up) and we spoke for a minute or two and he says "Be right back". I waited for a while, and then comes my handsome knight right into Auto Express with a cup of tea in one hand and a cup of coffee in another from Dunkin Donuts. Ofcourse this is Ryan so he does the perfect-est things :) A few days back when I went to Black Sheep on my way back from school to get us some cake (OK sometimes we may buy nicer cakes that we don't know how to bake), he went to Stop and Shop (with the pretext of getting milk) and got us not only the groceries but also miniature roses! :) They are so pink and pretty! I have them outside the house with the other herbs and vegetables for now. In a while (after June 8) we will transfer them to his parents house. Ok, so after the car inspection, we left Quark (Ryan's car) at Auto Express and drove Roo to Soha's apartment. We packed Roo up with bags and drove back to Auto Express where Ryan got back into Quark and drove past home onto Rt 202. Ryan turned towards home and Soha and I continued to Boston :(

When I was leaving from Boston, I saw that we had about 53 miles in between us on I90, and almost had a panic attack. Plus it is impossible to get out of Boston because the roads are so confusing, and the GPS almost throws its hands up saying, I cannot help you.

I also met Soha's uncle, aunt and five year old cousin. The little girl's name was Duniya (meaning world in atleast 5 languages) and she was so pretty and intelligent!

9:35 p.m. - 2009-05-31

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

grapecloud
narcissa
smartypants